Stubborn Manners?

I cannot believe it has been almost 2 years since I’ve put pen to paper. Writing is so therapeutic for me, it’s a wonder I’m still standing upright. By God’s good grace, no doubt. At the time of this writing, it was the end of 2018 and it’s been nothing but adventure, since.

The Family is the test of Freedom; because the family is the only thing that the free man makes for himself and by himself.

Gilbert K Chesterton

We were so blessed to have my sister and her family come to Canada to visit us over the Christmas holidays and we had tremendous fun together! Of course, so much family time brings with it its challenges and so we got to experience some of that when Papa was delivered into the hospital again. This time for an infection. Stubborn man, so determined to hide all weakness. I wonder, is that a male attribute or just a Papa attribute? A kindness to his family, not to complain or manners drilled since childhood?

They say females are the weaker sex. At least they used to say that, until so many of us determined to strongly take offence to that. But I wonder whether the Lord hasn’t deliberately taught us to be more mule headed than men, just to be able to relate to them at all. Hardy-harhar! Or perhaps to help us deal with them?

Now, my niece has moved to Canada and I feel like life with her is going to be worth it’s own layer of blogging soon. She is a breath of fresh air and so incredibly educational for me. When I was her age I moved in with my sister for about 9 months and now, ten years later, her daughter has moved into my home for the next year or so. It is a tremendous experience to have someone so young and beautiful constantly around. It makes me feel at once, completely rejuvenated and utterly aged.

Was I ever this young? When did I get so old? When did I start spouting so much wisdom? Or what I consider to be wisdom. It must be wisdom judging by the good manners she displays by nodding thoughtfully along, every time. Hmmm…perhaps she just has good manners. But it does give me a whole new appreciation of my sisters willingness to have me with her 24/7.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑